I must admit that I’ve only recently properly discovered the joys of podcasts (or, in the audio spacewar world of Viper Pilot, sub-etha fatwave bursts of encrypted military-grade beats). Having a four-minute walk to work really doesn’t give one much time to turn on the mp3 player, let alone settle in for a half-hour podcast.

Then I realized something. Since the vast majority, if not all of my readership live in either Australia or Canada, you will know what I am on about if I say that sometimes one must spend a long stretch of time in the car. By our standards, spending five or six hours in the car one way to get to the next city is no big deal.

So, with those sorts of jump times required to get to the next nearest star system, I’ve taken to compiling data discs of podcasts to while the hours away during the fleet’s long journeys through hyperspace. Radio Clash came up in a fairly recent blog post (since he was kind enough to pimp one of my tracks), and this time around it’s Not Your Usual Bollocks.

NYUB features a healthy mix of rock and electro, albeit with an emphasis on rock (which keeps Atomique happy, as I tend to over-thrump the playlist at home). From the NYUB website: “…because mainstream radio is shit.” I couldn’t agree more; while there’s plenty of music recently-recorded music on commercial radio, the majority of is as likely to be described ‘new’ as Pol Pot is likely to be described as ‘a lovely bridge partner and eager stamp collector’.

So, if you’re in the market to hear something that’s both new to your ears and free of the constraints of the big record labels’ comfort zones, give my man a listen.