Hoi, chummers!

I’ve diverted some resources towards the task of continuing to harass our robotic oppressors, this time over at Last.fm. About Last.fm (from Wikipedia):

Using a music recommendation system known as “Audioscrobbler”, Last.fm builds a detailed profile of each user’s musical taste by recording details of all the songs the user listens to, either on the streamed radio stations or on the user’s computer or portable music device. This information is transferred to Last.fm’s database (“scrobbled”) via a plugin installed into the user’s music player. The profile data is displayed on a personal web page. The site offers numerous social networking features and can recommend and play artists similar to the user’s favourites.

You can find Viper Pilot’s artist page at http://www.last.fm/music/Viper+Pilot (or by searching for Viper Pilot). This is a bit of an experiment on copyright laws. Technically, since Last.fm has the rights to play the songs I’m mashing, they hold the rights to play them at the same time. That’s how radio stations and clubs are allowed to play mashups, so I’m going to see how long the account lasts. Give me a listen and fight for copyright reform! Okay, maybe not, but it’s nice to think you are.

You can find my user page at http://www.last.fm/user/ViperPilot – this is where you go to see what ‘m listening to and you can add me s a friend so as to share playlists and recommendations. Please hunt me down if you’re already at Last.fm, or look me up once you join.

Signing off,

-Viper Pilot