So the other day I was buying shoes in the city, and being a vaguely hip downtown shop they had all variety of meaningless pop trash playing on the inhouse speaker system.  As I was paying for my new sneaks, the homosexual behind the counter started up some small talk by declaring his love for Britney Spears’ latest single (at the time), Circus, and went on about he awesome he thought she was.

At that point I felt a need to set a few things clear, so I told him:

“Well, given that someone else wrote the track, someone else produced it, someone else arranged for all the writers and producers and musicians to work together – let’s not forget the marketing department at Sony Music who engineered the marketing campaign to tell you that it’s ‘the hottest single of the summer’ so you and every fourteen year-old girl would help push it to the top of the charts – and all Britney’s done is sober up long enough to sing the words that someone else wrote, to a melody penned by yet another someone else – are you quite certain it’s her you really want to give any credit to?”

Okay, so I didn’t actually say that at the time. But now that I’ve had a chance to nut it out, I’m keeping that rant in resereve the next time some dimwit heaps praise upon Britney for any of the effort that’s gone into crafting one of her songs.

Music industry, you suck.