Viper Pilot – Labour Pains

It’s been a long time between victories, but the munitions works has finally progressed something from the R&D stage to full production release.

There’s a bit of tale behind this mix… one of the things suggested for one to do in preparation for the super-awesome fun-time that is delivering a baby is to arrange some soothing music or music that the mom-to-be will like to hear on the big day. Fair enough, I’d probably want some decent tunes as well. Atomique meticulously curated 7 audio CDs worth of music out of the crates of mp3s and CDs in Viper Pilot’s weapons locker (okay, and her own CDs, too) as she prepared for the arrival of the little dude.  These now-legendary discs with their plain white labels and handwritten ‘Labour Pains ’08’ tag not only served Atomique in the birthing suite, but have accompanied the family on a road trip or two since then.

NOTE: Atomique doesn’t particularly care for ‘soothing music’ so the resulting mix is quite listenable. No whalesong or unicorns here, just seventy minutes of rock and hard electro.

This mix set is a sub-curation of Atomique’s work – I have cherrypicked an hour and a half worth of songs from the 7-disc set to mash, mix and distort.  It was something of a challenge for me to include quite so much rock in a set, but I think I’ve managed to craft some pretty kickin’ mixes up in here. I certainly have even MORE respect now for guys like Mix Master Mike who can drop System of a Down on the fly into their sets (on motherfreaking VINYL, no less – seriously, System of a Down’s tempos are all over the place to begin with… aie aie aie).

Download and enjoy, motherfutons!

01. The Gorillaz – 19-2000
02. Pop Will Eat Itself – Games Without Frontiers
03. The Cure – Lullaby (Extended Mix)
04. The Jesus and Mary Chain – Side Walking
05. The Chemical Brothers – Galvanize
06. Viper Pilot – Do the Busta Stop
07. Hexstatic – Bass Invader
08. Justice – D.A.N.C.E.
09. Happy Mondays – Kinky Afro
10. The Rapture – Get Myself Into It
11. The Incredible Bongo Band – Apache
12. Gigas – Transformers – Decepticon Mix
13. Daft Punk – Robot Rock
14. Datarock – Sex Me Up
15. Justice vs Simian – We Are Your Friends
16. The Pixies – Here Comes Your Man
17. Digitalism – Jupiter Room
18. Franz Ferdinand – Matinee (Headman Vocal Remix)
19. REM – One I Love
20. Planet Funk – The Switch
21. White Stripes – The Hardest Button to Button
22. Hot Chip – The Warning
23. Mint Royale – Don’t Falter
24. Spiderbait – Arse Huggin’ Pants
25. The Chemical Brothers – Believe (Go Home Productions‘ Louder Remix)
26. LCD Soundsystem – Us v Them
27. Supergrass – Kiss of Life
28. Apollo 440 – Don’t Fear the Reaper
29. Pendulum – Fasten Your Seatbelt
30. The Faint – I Dissapear