It really irks me that I’ve got hundreds of gigabytes of storage, only to find that I have way less free space than I ought. In these days of terabyte-sized drives, it’s getting harder and harder to track down where the errant bytes that are taking over your drive. So, I assembled a crack team of data warriors (consisting of, er, myself) to attack this problem.

Come now with me and enter the amazing world of graphical hard drive usage software. These nifty utilities tally up all the files and directories on a drive and display them in a coloured grid. The biggest blocks (or bloc of blocks) on the grid are the biggest culprits, allowing you to easily pinpoint the storage whores on your drives. In my case, I found a massive store of crash logs from an application I’d have never suspected of being such a complete asshat, filling up a folder I’d have never looked in if I was hunting for the whereabouts of my free space manually.

In Windows-land, WinDirStat is your ally here. If you’re a Mac user, GrandPerspective does the same job. Both of these applications are freeware, so there’s no reason you can’t go clean up your messy drives.

GrandPerspective


WinDirStat