A while back I wrote about the sports of the future (some real, some fictional). Here’s the first addendum to that list: chessboxing!

Wu-Tang Clan – Da Mystery of Chessboxing

Chessboxing is a mindbogglingly simple yet amazing idea: take the brutally punishing and physically demanding sport of boxing and mix it with the ego-punishing and cerebrally demanding mental challenge of chess.  I’m not saying boxing doesn’t require a certain kind of smarts, but I’m pretty sure Jessica Simpson could take Mike Tyson in a chess match.

Chessboxing World Heavyweight Championship Berlin 2008

A chessboxing bout starts with four minutes of speed chess, then a round of boxing, then back to the chess, then another round of boxing… you get the idea. I can only imagine how difficult it must be to switch from one mode to the other.

The sport seems to be limited to Europe, but I’ll so pay to see a bout if it takes off here on prison moon 42.

When I’m rear admiral (the best kind of admiral) of the space fleet, chessboxing will be required training for all midshipmen.

Chessboxing Documentary (Part 1)

Chessboxing Documentary (Part 2)