My normal course of action around this time of year is to wait until the Hottest 100 results are in, then bitch about how the mostly-twentysomethings who no doubt comprise the bulk of vote don’t have my musical tastes.

To do something just that tiny bit different, I’m going to see how well I’ve got my ear to the ground. Let’s see if I can read the zeitgeist and pick the top ten, rather than my top ten. Here we go:

Phoenix – Lisztomania
Vampire Weekend – Cousins
Mumford & Sons – Little Lion Man
Hilltop Hoods – Chase That Feeling
Art vs Science – Parlez-Vous Francais
Passion Pit – Sleepyhead
Muse – Uprising
Dizzee Rascal – Dirtee Cash
Eskiimo Joe – Inshalla
Yeah Yeah Yeahs – Heads Will Roll

Okay, I promise no more ‘world’s largest music poll’ ramblings once I’ve had a chance to bitch about this year’s results.  After that, we’re back to the usual programming for another eleven months. Hey – eleven is a number! I’m going to tell you all sorts of wonderful things about numbers once I’m done obsessing about the Hottest 100.